Dream and Dream Hard (USWNT Day 3)

That’s a wrap! Three days have went by so fast. This morning we had our last session of the women’s national team open tryout. We were split up into teams and played the entire time. I had never met any of my teammates, but I really liked playing with them. It’s refreshing to be on a court with people who help take away any pressure and have a passion for volleyball similar to your own. Today was the first day that I felt completely comfortable in the gym, which is kind of a bummer, but better late than never right?

10997332_10153133032858524_6912270818734714005_n
Photo: Bill Kaufman, USA Volleyball

We spent the rest of the day napping, eating lots of healthy food in unhealthy portions, and hanging around the dorms. The winter storm has us here until tomorrow, and possibly Tuesday. With all this snow, I knew it was only a matter of time before this happened…

IMG_5540

I would like to point out that this was possible because my teammates thought it was a better use of their time to take pictures of me eating it than helping me up. I love them so much.

Also, we saw Michael Phelps at dinner tonight! We’re not allowed to take pictures, which is understandable. That was a huge highlight of our weekend and really brings into perspective what we’re here to accomplish: greatness in every sense of the word.

IMG_3147

Being here as been somewhat surreal. Everyday we walk around hallways filled with pictures of Olympians (and actual Olympians) who have walked the same steps that we are currently, regardless of the sport. We all know the athletes on the wall and in the building; the whole country knows them. These are very real people who are dedicated to being extraordinary. As cliche as it sounds, being at the OTC makes you realize that dreams really can come true.

My only regret from this experience is that I didn’t make my coaches send me here for the past three years. I think girls who have been here previously have a better understanding of what to expect, greater comfortability, and more exposure. I was hesitant to come this year, but I’m so glad I went for it. I love this sport so much and this weekend has solidified that even more. Everyone’s story is different and I’m excited to see where my volleyball journey takes me next.

Nicole

“Dream and dream hard. Try to make all of your dreams a reality.”

Stacy Sykora

Cover photo: Bill Kaufman, USA Volleyball

One thought

Leave a comment